The crisp new 20!

Posted: December 26, 2010 in Economy, Musings
Tags: , , , ,

Just in time for the holidays—new paper money! I got hold of the new P20 bill being released and circulated by the BSP (Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas) to the banks (together with the new P50). The rest of the new paper bills will be made available at the start of the coming new year which, from what I heard, even when mistakes were found on the printed legal tender, will still be rolled out come 2011. 

Going back to the two new paper currencies with lesser face value, the P20 and P50 denomination are now aplenty, in time for the Yuletide season. Good news for those kids who come in packs and knocking at your front door on Christmas day, wishing for aginaldo to be bestowed upon them. But who really wants to dole out a crisp, new banknote? Especially now that it’s been given a refreshing look, I think I’ll hold onto it for a little while longer.

The old and young, er, I mean, new PhP20 (pay close attention to the hairline and countenance.) – scanned front side

The old and new PhP20 - scanned back side

While on the subject of new paper money, I have this quirk that I don’t just hand out uncreased bill to anyone, because it’s brand new and I want to preserve the crispness; and I feel bad about letting go of it. What I do, in case I do have to, is I crumple it lightly, so at least I’ll be the first to mar it. It’s gonna get soiled and disfigured by some guy, anyway. I might as well be that guy. 😛

So relish your new and crisp legal tender. Hold it, feel it, smell it. They’re not gonna last like that for long.

Happy holidays, everyone! Cheers!

Comments

Leave a Reply

